12th September – 48 Days and Counting…

3. Why did you choose to write in your particular field or genre?

I grew up loving fantasy novels, and my dad encouraged me to read The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings at a fairly early age. My most favourite of his recommendations was always The Malloreon and The Belgariad, both epic fantasy by David Eddings. I fell in love with Garion and Silk and Barak, and the amazing world Eddings created.

I also enjoyed the Harry Potter series, although I admit, I was late to the party on that one. In fact, I read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone in the few hours before we went to see the movie. Again, I fell in love.

Going back to my first post, Sylvia Waugh’s The Mennyms series was a fantasy series of books, fantasy in that the characters are life-size, living dolls, hiding in plain sight in a regular cul-de-sac. I had a fascination with Soobie, the reclusive book-reader, possibly because I saw myself in him. When his twin Pilbeam was created, I experienced something along with him. I wanted to discover a twin I’d never known, someone I could share my darkest secrets with.

I think I’m drawn to fantasy because it’s a space where you can explore feelings and emotions without fear. In your fantasy world, anything can be normal – or indeed, extraordinary.

Leave a Reply

