21st September – 39 Days and Counting

Don’t forget about my Kindle Scout campaign! Vote and share!

*

12. What is the hardest thing about writing?

Believing you’re good enough. That’s my honest answer.sadrainey

Writing is a lonely business, and sometimes it feels like you’re screaming into the void. It can feel like you’re working on something that will never go anywhere, that will never achieve anything, and you start to wonder if you’ve spent such a huge chunk of your l
ife on nothing.

At least, that’s been my experience. I can write. And I know I write well. But the emotional side of me finds it hard to connect that with any kind of acknowledgement that I’m good enough to be published.

I am a very self-depreciating person. I always put myself down, put myself under immense pressure, never give myself a break. If someone pays me a compliment, my first reaction is to deny it in my head. Sometimes I think, “If they really knew me, they wouldn’t say that.” I have cripplingly low self-esteem at times, and I find it hard to stand up for my craft and believe it’s any good. I’ve been that way since I was a kid. It’s hard.

Sometimes you just have to remember how far you’ve come, and not let the negative thoughts get to you.
proudofyou

Leave a Reply

