23rd September – 37 Days and Counting

14. What’s your least favourite part of the writing experience?

Oh, man. What a question! I think the first line by line edit is my least favourite part.

Writing the first draft is stressful, but enjoyable. There are surprises when a character does something unexpected, or the plot takes a turn you hadn’t anticipated.

The first like edits, though… They’re painful. All of your mistakes, plot points you said you’d fix later… In line edits, you have to face it all. I find the process difficult because I’m so critical of myself, and I can demean myself so easily. It’s tough!

Overall, the process is worth it…but I hate it!

 

Leave a Reply

