5th October – 25 Days and Counting

26. What advice would you give to your younger writing self?

This is very apt, as today I was at a workshop for young writers between 15 and 19. My advice to my younger writing self?

Keep writing. It’s as simple as that.

When I was 13 or 14, I wrote everyday, often late into the night. The freedom I felt was amazing. Words flowing from my pen, ideas hammered onto the page with no hesitation.

Then I got a little older. Then I felt the Fear. Then I stopped.

Writing was a totally solitary activity for me. None of my friends did it (that I knew of) and I didn’t have much encouragement. As my mental health deteriorated and my confidence was smashed to pieces, I decided I was worth nothing. Thus, I couldn’t be a good writer. And I stopped.

If I could go back and talk to my younger writing self, I would encourage teen me to keep going. Keep writing. Keep enjoying.

I think that’s the most important thing any young writer can do.

Leave a Reply

