8th October – 22 Days and Counting…

29. For you, what makes a good book cover?

I’m not a graphic designer, though I’ve always had a good eye for art. I know what I like, but that doesn’t necessarily make a good book cover!

I like a good contrast of colour. The current trend in books of bright block colour with black text is particularly appealing to me. I enjoy when colour is used for symbolism. It adds a whole new meaning to the interpretation.

Colour and images in general are something I focus on the most (like everyone, I think). I like images that are uncluttered, or at least that aren’t confusing to look at. I’m not a huge fan of illustrated covers. For example, I much prefer the “adult” Harry Potter covers over the edition aimed at children (though I’ve only ever bought the “children’s” covers – go figure).

I’m a bit of a stickler for fonts that I like, too. If I can immediately recognise the font, I don’t like it – unless it’s Times New Roman or some such, used for blurb writing. I like interesting and well-chosen fonts. I don’t like the standard “unusual” ones like Jokerman, Comic Sans… Ugh. No.

The font used for the Rise of the Darkwitch cover is called Unclassic Quill, and I really like it. It’s simple enough not to be confusing, but interesting enough to grab your attention.

Speaking of covers, Rise of the Darkwitch has an alternative cover now! Check it out and let me know what you think!

bookcover6x9_cream_300-v2

Leave a Reply

