10th October – 20 Days and Counting…

31. What’s the most important thing in life?

I guess I chose this question today because I’ve spent quite a few hours with my Granny, who’s unfortunately in the process of passing away. I was scared to go see her, in case it was too painful. But I went. And I’m glad I did. That’s helped to sharpen my answer to this question. What’s the most important thing in life?

Friends and family.

When someone is dying, it brings family together. There’s a shared commune of sadness when brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, cousins, and all the rest, come together to be with whoever is on their way out.

It puts everything in perspective. What matters and what doesn’t, what’s important and what’s trivial.

I guess what’s most important in life is living well enough that, when you’re dying, there are people who’ll sit with you, stroke your hair, hold your hand…

That’s the most important thing.

Leave a Reply

