14th October – 16 Days and Counting…

35. What was your hardest scene to write?

I think the hardest scene to write was the first scene of Rise of the Darkwitch.

I rewrote the first chapter of RotD many times. There have been different characters, different scenarios, and some  parts that have been completely ripped out. I’ve rejigged, reworked, reorganised… And eventually, I think I’ve got to the first chapter I want.

First chapters are so difficult. It’s hard to know what’s the right way to start your novel. It’s difficult to set the tone, establish your characters, and give the reader a little idea of the world without infodumping.

By far, the most difficult scene I’ve written has been the first scene. I don’t think I’ll ever have such difficulty with a scene again…

Until the next first chapter, of course.

Leave a Reply

