19th October – 11 Days and Counting…

40. Do you try more to be original or to deliver to readers what they want?

In some ways, I try to be original. One of the reasons I’ve avoided the elf, man and dwarf trope in fantasy is because I want to do something different. I’m tired of reading the same kinds of characters in the same kinds of stories. I wanted to create something entirely different, which is why I created my original species.

However, even with these grand intentions, the writer still needs to deliver for the reader all of those things that make writing great. If the reader can’t empathise or even recognise the characters and situations, the piece of writing is a failure.

What I try to do in order to get around this is give my non-human characters characteristics humans can recognise. Jealousy? Check. Anger? Check. Love? Check. All of these things are absolutely essentially, and I think that’s what the reader truly wants.

We want to live, breathe, fear for, and die with the characters, and live in a world that is different, but still recognisable.

Leave a Reply

