22nd October – 8 Days and Counting

43. Have you ever felt disheartened in your writing career?

I chose this question today because I found out this morning that Rise of the Darkwitch didn’t get chosen by Kindle Scout. So it’s pretty relevant.

The answer?

Not anymore.

I used to tie myself up in knots over rejections. I took them really personally. It was like I was being rejected, not just a manuscript.

Thankfully, I don’t feel like that any longer. Maybe it’s because I’m older. Maybe it’s because I’ve succeeded in a lot of things other than writing. Now, I don’t feel like a rejection in my writing is a personal rejection. It’s just one of those things. Rather, the way I frame it in my head now is that my product wasn’t right at the moment. But it will be right for someone, some day.

So, while Rise of the Darkwitch might not have been what Kindle was looking for, I’m confident that when I self-publish, someone, somewhere, will enjoy the book. And that’s all that matters.

Leave a Reply

