23rd October – 7 Days and Counting

44. Have you read anything that made you think differently about fiction?

I think one of the things that really changed how I thought about fiction was Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut.

When I first read the novel, I didn’t know what to make of it. I was confused, not sure what the hell was going on. But the more I read, the more I researched, the more I got it.

It made me realise that not all fiction needs to be straightforward. It taught me that it’s okay to do something different – not what Vonnegut did, but doing something that is outside the box.

It definitely made me think differently about fiction.

Leave a Reply

