25th October – 5 Days and Counting

46. What motivated you to become an indie author?

The day I decided to go out on my own as an indie (independent, for those wondering – sadly nothing to do with Indiana Jones) was the day I realised I wasn’t going to be successful.

Strange, huh? It certainly sounds it! However, that realisation truly was the moment I decided to go out on my own.

Trying to get a publishing contract is almost impossibly. I’m a very small fish in an extremely large pond. A pond that seems unendingly deep and exceptionally scary. Not only that, but I’m a very small fish waving an LGBT flag, which doesn’t exactly improve my attractiveness in the pond.

Extended metaphors aside, I’m a small-time writer writing for a niche market. It doesn’t make sense for me to try and get a big publishing contract.

What does make sense is to go independent – and make my market.

I’ll probably never be successful in monetary terms. But hopefully I’ll be successful in another sense: I’ll have made my own success.

Leave a Reply

