26th October – 4 Days and Counting…

47. As a writer, what would you choose as your mascot?

What a question! I’ve had to think hard about this one, but the answer is: a dog.

Not hugely exciting, I know. But let me explain.

Dogs are loyal creatures. They don’t hold grudges. They always forgive and try again. Sometimes, you have to work very hard with them to get where you need to be. And sometimes, with dogs, there’s a lot of shit. And that’s exactly what I think of when I think of my writing.

I’m loyal to my writing. I spend inordinate amounts of time thinking about it, plotting more, and tweaking it.

I forgive my writing, because often, it drives me insane, but I always go back to it. Sometimes, it takes a lot of hard graft to get it right.

Frequently, there is a lot of shit. There are shitty sentences, crappy paragraphs, derivative bullshit.

But it’s not always that bad. There are great times, just like the great times I have with my dog.

So yes. I’d choose a dog. Perfect for me!

Leave a Reply

