27the October – 3 Days and Counting

48. What have you put most of your effort into regarding writing?

I think one of the things I’ve tried the hardest at is to make my writing more precise.

I’ve spent an awful lot of time learning how to edit my work at word and sentence level for brevity. I’ve tried to trim my ¬†descriptions, to reduce the amount of exposition I include, and to make my meanings more precise.

Another thing I’ve worked hard on is reducing barriers between the reader and the text. As far as possible, I’ve tried to remove phrases like “she felt” and “she saw.” Instead, I just describe what’s happening, not just convey it “through” a character’s eyes.

Leave a Reply

