IndiePub Adventures: Publishing Paperbacks (and other headaches)

Blogging a few days early because this Sunday is Christmas day!

My paperback went live on 18th December, and I detailed my proofing and creation process in the last post. All seemed well…

20161223_100142

…until my copy arrived.

Ah! There was a problem with the margins, which meant an issue with the size of the type. It became minuet! And in comparison to the margins, it looked so awful in comparison to the margins.

20161223_100215

I knew there was an issue, so I went back to the drawing board with my margins. Turned out, one of them was out by a whole inch (!) where I’d typed 1.53 instead of 0.53. Doy. At least it was an easy fix, and the proof files are awaiting their check by CreateSpace now so the paperback can go back on sale.

I like my text to be bigger so it’s more accessible for readers with eye issues–a little like myself! Small text might make book production cheaper, but in my experience, it’s less enjoyable to read.

Other changes I made included making the text on the spine blue instead of white, but the contrast wasn’t stark enough, so I’ve lightened the blue considerably in the next proof. It looks much brighter in the photograph than it does in reality. I also added a little snowflake to represent Emmy’s powers in the novel.

20161223_100239

Other non-proof related news include the fact that my t-shirt and business cards have arrived! Just waiting on my banner and flyers and I’ll be all set for Belfast Film and Comic Con in March 2017. Very exciting!

So that’s it from me for 2016! Next blog post will likely be in 2017. So Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, have a great Kwanzaa, Yule, Saturnalia, Omisoka, and New Year–and whatever other holiday you may observe!

Stay safe, behave (within reason), and let’s hope that 2017 is a hell of a lot more positive.

Love, Ziv ❤

Leave a Reply

